Networking for Excellence in Solar Thermal Energy Research

The Cyprus Institute's first annual NESTER School has successfully concluded.


Watch presentations from the 2016 NESTER School, listed below:

Week 2

The Case for Co-Generation - by Aristides Bonanos (The Cyprus Institute)

STS-MED Project: Pilot Plant at CyI - by Alaric Montenon (The Cyprus Institute)

Alternative Non-Electric Applications for CST Energy - by Luca Turchetti (ENEA)

Basics of CSP Economics - by Nestor Fylaktos (The Cyprus Institute)

CSP Research Future Perspectives - by Manuel J. Blanco (The Cyprus Institute)

Reflectance of Facets - by Marco Montecchi (ENEA)

Flux Measurements - by Emmanuel Guillot (CNRS-PROMES)

Optical Modelling in CSP - by Cyril Caliot (CNRS-PROMES)

Thermo Optical Properties of Materials for CSP - by Audrey Soum-Glaude (CNRS-PROMES)

Optics and Modelling in CST - by Evgueni Votyakov (The Cyprus Insitute)


schools7th - 17th November 2016

This School, the first of a series of annual Autumn Schools on Concentrated Solar Technologies (CST), is directed to graduate (Masters and Doctoral) students and to early career professionals.

The school offers a fast paced comprehensive overview of the field, to be followed by intermediate and advanced lectures on selected topics of keen interest to the field, delivered by world experts.

Visits and hands-on activities will take place in the state-of-the-art research infrastructures of the Cyprus Institute.

Download the NESTER 2016 School brochure.


2016 NESTER School Program

1st Week: General Topics


2nd Week: Advanced Modules - Optics; Desalination

 Download the 2016 NESTER School Program

The program will also include visits and afternoon activities as well as round tables with international scientific experts.

(This program may be subject to change.  A more detailed schedule will be available soon)




Dr Diego Alarcón


Prof. Manuel Blanco

The Cyprus Institute

Prof. Aris Bonanos

The Cyprus Institute

Dr Cyril Caliot


Simona De Iuliis


Dr Gilles Flamant


Dr Nestor Fylaktos

The Cyprus Institute

Dr Marios Georgiou

The Cyprus Institute

Emmanuel Guillot


Prof. Soteris Kalogirou

Cyprus University of Technology

Dr. Costas Marakkos

The Cyprus Institute

Dr Fabio Montagnino

Idea / Consorzio Arca

Marco Montecchi


Prof. Costas Papanicolas

The Cyprus Institute

Dr Filippo Paredes

Idea / Consorzio Arca

Dr Audrey Soum-Glaude


Dr Luca Turchetti


Dr Evgueny Votyakov

The Cyprus Institute